Monday, January 18, 2010

And the Winners Are...

This morning, the American Library Association announced the winners of its annual book and media awards for children and teens. This year's winners and honor books for children are:

John Newbery Medal Winner:
When You Reach Me
by Rebecca Stead

Newbery Honor Books:
Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice
by Phillip Hoose

The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate

by Kelly

Where the Mountain Meets the Moon
by Grace Lin

The Mostly True Adventures of Homer P. Figg
by Rodman Philbrick

Caldecott Medal Winner:
The Lion and the Mouse
by Jerry Pinkney

Caldecott Honor Books:
All the World
illustrated by Marla Frazee
written by Liz Garton Scanlon

Red Sings from the Treetops
illustrated by Pamela Zagarenski
written by Joyce Sidman

Coretta Scott King Book Award (Author):
Bad News for Outlaws: The Remarkable Life of Bass Reeves, Deputy U.S. Marshal
by Vaunda Micheaux Nelson

Coretta Scott King Honor (Author):
Mare’s War
by Tanita S. Davis

Coretta Scott King Book Award (Illustrator):
My People
illustrated by Charles R. Smith Jr.
written by Langston Hughes

Coretta Scott King Honor (Illustrator):
The Negro Speaks of Rivers
illustrated by E. B. Lewis
written by Langston Hughes

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award:
Benny and Penny in the Big No-No!
written and illustrated by Geoffrey Hayes

Theodor Seuss Geisel Honor Books:
I Spy Fly Guy!
written and illustrated by Tedd Arnold

Little Mouse Gets Ready
written and illustrated by Jeff Smith

Mouse and Mole: Fine Feathered Friends
written and illustrated by Wong Herbert Yee

Pearl and Wagner: One Funny Day
written by Kate McMullan
illustrated by R. W. Alley

Robert F. Sibert Medal Winner:
Almost Astronauts: 13 Women Who Dared to Dream
by Tanya Lee Stone

Sibert Honor Books:
The Day-Glo Brothers: The True Story of Bob and Joe Switzer's Bright Ideas and Brand-New Colors
written by Chris Barton
illustrated by Tony Persiani

Moonshot: The Flight of Apollo 11
by Brian Floca

Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice
by Phillip Hoose

Pura Belpré Award (Author):
Return to Sender
by Julia Alvarez

Pura Belpré Honors(Author):
Diego: Bigger Than Life
by Carmen T. Bernier-Grand
illustrated by David Diaz

Federico García Lorca
written by Georgina Lázaro
illustrated by Enrique S. Moreiro

Pura Belpré Award (Illustrator):
Book Fiesta!: Celebrate Children’s Day/Book Day; Celebremos El día de los niños/El día de los libros
illustrated by Rafael López
written by Pat Mora

Pura Belpré Honors (Illustrator):
Diego: Bigger Than Life
illustrated by David Diaz
by Carmen T. Bernier-Grand

My Abuelita
illustrated by Yuyi Morales
written by Tony Johnston

Gracias Thanks
illustrated by John Parra
written by Pat Mora

Schneider Family Book Awards:
by Bonnie Christensen

Anything but Typical
by Nora Raleigh Baskin

Marcelo in the Real World
by Francisco X. Stork

Odyssey Award:
Louise, the Adventures of a Chicken
written by Kate DiCamillo
narrated by Barbara Rosenblat

Odyssey Honors:
In the Belly of the Bloodhound: Being an Account of a Particularly Peculiar Adventure in the Life of Jacky Faber
written by L. A. Meyer
narrated by Katherine Kellgren

Peace, Locomotion
written by Jacqueline Woodson
narrated by Dion Graham

We Are the Ship: The Story of Negro League Baseball
written by Kadir Nelson
narrated by Dion Graham

Andrew Carnegie Medal:
Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus!
based on the book by Mo Willems
narrated by Willems and Jon Scieszka

Mildred L. Batchelder Award
A Faraway Island
written by Annika Thor
translated by Linda Schenck

Batchelder Honors:
Big Wolf and Little Wolf
written by Nadine Brun-Cosme
illustrated by Olivier Tallec
translated by Claudia Bedrick

written by Bodil Bredsdorff
translated by Kathryn Mahaffy

Moribito II: Guardian of the Darkness
written by Nahoko Uehashi
illustrated by Yuko Shimizu
translated by Cathy Hirano

No comments: