Saturday, May 16, 2009

Winners of the 2009 Jane Addams Children's Book Awards

On April 28th, 2009, the Jane Addams Peace Association announced its 2009 Winners:

Books for Younger Children:

Planting the Trees of Kenya: The Story of Wangari Maathai
written and illustrated by Claire A. Nivola

Honor Books:
The Storyteller's Candle/La velita de los cuentos
by Lucía González, illustrations by Lulu Delacre
Silent Music: A Story of Baghdad
written and illustrated by James Rumford

Books for Older Children:

The Surrender Tree: Poems of Cuba's Struggle for Freedom
by Margarita Engle

Honor Books:
The Shepherd's Granddaughter
by Anne Laurel Carter
Ain't Nothing But a Man: My Quest to Find the Real John Henry, by Scott Reynolds Nelson with Marc Aronson

The Jane Addams Childrens Book Awards are given to books that "effectively promote the cause of peace, social justice, world community, and the equality of the sexes and all races as well as meeting conventional standards for excellence."
--Jane Addams Peace Association

No comments: